Bridget Jones’s Baby – Worth the Wait?

bj

I’ve always been a fan of the Bridget Jones franchise. Although, I am not quite sure why. I was only 15 when the first movie came out in 2001. Maybe I just had a feeling then that a decade and half later I would probably identify with this ditsy chick who was always unlucky in love (the joys of being an ugly duckling I think).

Anyway, despite having not read either of the first two books I loved the movies but, as is usually the case, the sequel was somewhat disappointing. Don’t get me wrong Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason still features in my very minimal DVD collection (maybe the ex who bought me the DVD did it to curse me to a life of eternal spinsterhood!). In all honesty, the second movie wasn’t terrible (how can it be with Mr Darcy to perve on?) – there were still a lot of good LOLs but it was a bit repetitive when it came to the jokes.

After a decade long Bridget Jones hiatus, I rediscovered my love for the silly woman when I read Bridget Jones : All About The Boy a couple of years ago. The book was a nice easy read, nothing to taxing for my fragile mind and the new characters were fairly likeable. And after reading I felt ready to embrace the Bridget Jones threequel. But when it came time to see the latest instalment in the movie saga I was a little apprehensive. While I knew it would be at least be mildly entertaining I was still a little sceptical having learnt  that it wouldn’t actually be based on the third book.

On Saturday #zlotybaby and I took ourselves on a date to watch the much anticipated Bridget Jones Baby. Without giving away too much, I will say I was pleasantly surprised and might even go as far as to say that it was better than the original. Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ll probably know that in this movie Bridget is a 40-something (remember its been 12 years since she did her stint in Thai prison) cougar or, SPILF (cross between a spinster and a MILF) as she calls herself, who has somehow landed herself a high-powered job and got undergone quite a cosmetic transformation. Thankfully, she is still the same scatty and loveable character that everyone pities/finds endearing and now she is about to become a geriatric mother.  And the million dollar question around which the storyline centres on is : Who is BJ’s Baby Daddy? Some internet dating guru she hooks up with at a music festival or her old flame that somehow boomeranged back into her life?

Maybe I am just easily pleased but I thought Bridget Jones’s Baby was an excellent comeback and definitely worth waiting over a decade for.  Sure it received some criticism for not discussing abortion and birth control, but I’m a firm believer in there being a time and place for everything.  It was certainly unrealistic in parts (e.g. the lovers of family would be up in arms if people got fired for  making ‘pregnancy brain’ mistakes) but movies like this would soon lose their appeal if they had to be true to reality on everything and sensitively discuss all those BIG issues. So for what its worth, if you are in the mood for something fluffy and lighthearted that will make you laugh like a lunatic go and watch Bridget Jones Baby – just be ready to embrace all the slapstick moments (as well as the un-PC Hitler jokes). And you never know, this may just be the movie that you need to restore your faith in humanity and happily ever after in the miserable age of Tinder!

And I really hope we don’t have to wait another decade for the 4th one !

So  Rinsers – Have you  seen Bridget Jones’s Baby? Did you think it was a good LOL or just a mediocre chick flick? Thoughts in the comments below.

 

23 comments

  1. Hi there! I nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award! If you’re interested in accepting/participating, pop over to my Awards page to see the instructions (Sunshine Blogger #3). I love reading your content. Keep it up!

    -Bex

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed the movie. It was super funny. Sure someone could say it’s not the smartest thing in the world but it’s very entertaining for a romcom. I’m so glad they didn’t use the third book for the plot. I really didn’t like it. Thought it was badly written, too long and not funny. Then again I always thought the BJ movies were so much better than the books (the one and only instance of that happening in my life).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Best movie yet. Thanks for a great review… I wasn’t overly keen to see it after the second one being a flop but you convinced me and it didn’t disappoint.

    Like

  4. I finally watched it last weekend and really enjoyed it. It was funny! It was interesting to read that some people had a problem with the lack of birth control or abortion – they used condoms and she had several dream scenes about becoming a mom! Oddly, I didn’t even notice the plastic surgery – I guess the Bridget Jones persona was fully intact so it over-shadowed any physical differences.

    I can’t believe that she is 43 now! In the summer I rewatched the original one and realized that I am now the same age as her in the movie (and roughly in the same place in life). I am not sure if I want to feel so similar when I am 43!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.